2019 CSIRO Alumni Scholarship in Physics

September 25th, 2020

Lindfield, NSW – 18 February 2019

The 2019 CSIRO Alumni Scholarship ceremony was held at Lindfield on Monday 18 February.

This year’s winner was Matthew Rendell and the award was presented by Dr Cathy Foley, CSIRO Chief Scientist.

Matthew’s project is to develop ultra-high quality germanium heterostructures, as well as the fabrication of working nanostructures on these high quality germanium wafers.

To request a transcript please contact us.

This travel scholarship will assist with expenses relating to Matthew’s research trip to the QUTech group at TU Delft in the Netherlands. This will allow him to access one of the best nanostructure research and fabrication groups in Europe.

Here he will gain knowledge and skills in the growth of germanium heterostructures and nanoscale device fabrication which is not available at any facility in Australia. He aims to subsequently bring these devices and wafers back to Australia for characterisation and measurement as part of a continued collaboration between the research group at UNSW and the QUTech group at TU Delft.

Naomi Paxton, who won the award in 2018, returned and gave a very interesting presentation on her research trip to Imperial College London. She explained how she had used advanced imaging techniques to analyse bioglass composite biomaterials as part of her biofabrication project.

Leanne Harris presented the LCU Tertiary Scholarships.